Josh Rosen & Stan Strickland

Tight knit creative contemporary acoustic jazz. Warm and funny, exuberant, expressive original compositions and fresh improvisations. Superb ensemble work. Music for the mind and the emotions.

Josh Rosen, piano, keyboards Stan Strickland, saxes, flutes, bass clarinet, voice Bruno Råberg, bass Dave Fox, drums

All compositions by Josh Rosen except You Never Give Me Your Money, by Lennon/McCartney (arranged by Josh Rosen) and Hawthorn, which is a group improvisation.

Notes on the tunes: Seasons, joy amid the change of time. TriCycle For Punky is for my rhythmic son Jacob, always on the go, shifting directions, never losing a beat. Third Way is constructed with musical thirds. Resurgence, yes, coming back to the adventure of life. Waltz Eleven, a waltz in an eleven beat pattern, but then it messes around a bit. You Never Give Me Your Money, the Beatles impacted all music. Hawthorn, the breath, the moment, another movement of the Be Here Now Suite. Echo Park is for Los Angeles, the sunshine and the uplifting creative mix of its people. -Josh Rosen

Produced by Josh Rosen and Stan Strickland Recorded, Mixed and Mastered by Peter Kontrimas at PBS, Westwood, Massachusetts CD design by Gerard Babakian Cover art from a painting/collage by Renee Rosen

Read more… close
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8